Väisälä Prize

Väisälä Prizes are awarded annually to 1–3 already distinguished scientists in the active parts of their careers. The prizes are awarded by the Board of the Finnish Academy of Science and Letters from the Väisälä Fund, to the fields supported by the Fund. The Väisälä Prizes have been awarded since 2000. The value of the prize is 15.000€.

Prize winners

2023 Professor Anu Kankainen and Professor Lauri Oksanen

2022 Associate Professor Vesa Julin and Associate Professor Katrianne Lehtipalo

2021 Professor Emilia Kilpua (physics) and Associate Professor Christian Webb (mathematics)

2020 Professor Mikko Möttönen (physics) and Professor Tuomas Orponen (mathematics)

2019 Professor Goëry Genty (optics) and Professor Tuomo Kuusi (mahthematics)

2018 Professor Tero Heikkilä (theoretical physics), Professor Jani Lukkarinen (mathematical physics) and Professor Otso Ovaskainen (mathematical ecology)

2017 Professor Camilla Hollanti (mathematics) and Professor Sabrina Maniscalco (quantum physics)

2016 Professor Peter Liljeroth (physics), Academy Research Fellow Kaisa Matomäki (mathematics) and Professor Minna Palmroth (space science)

2015 Professor Risto Korhonen (mathematics) and Professor Mika Sillanpää (physics)

2014 Professor Mikko Salo (mathematics) and Professor Paul Greenlees (physics)

2013 Professor Tuomas Hytönen (mathematics) and Professor Tuukka Petäjä (physics)

2012 Professor Marko Huhtanen (mathematics) and Professor Sebastiaan van Dijken (physics)

2011 Professor Xiao Zhong (mathematics) and Professor Mika Valden (physics)

2010 Professor Peter Hästö (mathematics) and Professor Janne Ruokolainen (physics)

2009 Professor Kaisa Miettinen (mathematics) and Professor Adam Foster (physics)

2008 Professor Eero Hyry (mathematics) and Professor Edwin Kukk (experimental physics)

2007 Professor Eero Saksman (mathematics) and Professor Kari J. Eskola (physics)

2006 Professor Jarkko Kari (mathematics) and Professor Kari Rummukainen (physics)

2005 Professor Juha Kinnunen (mathematics) and Professor Kalle-Antti Suominen (physics)

2004 Professor Matti Lassas (mathematics) and Professor Martti Kauranen (physics)

2003 Professor Jari Taskinen (mathematics), Professor Päivi Törmä (physics) and Professor Timo Vesala (meteorology)

2002 Professor Tero Kilpeläinen (mathematics) and Professor Keijo Hämäläinen (physics)

2001 Professor Pekka Koskela (mathematics) and Professor Erkki Thuneberg (physics)

2000 Professor Erkki Somersalo (mathematics), Professor Jari Turunen (physics) and Professor Markku Lehtinen (geophysics)