Eino Jutikkala History Prize

Academician Eino Jutikkala, deceased December 2006, willed the majority of his estate to the Finnish Academy of Science and Letters. His will stipulated that the assets should be used to establish a dedicated fund which would award a prize every three years for distinguished scholarly work in the field of historical research.

The Board of the Finnish Academy of Science and Letters established a fund carrying Jutikkala’s name and awarded the first Eino Jutikkala History Prize on 24 October 2007, the 100th anniversary of the academic’s birth. The value of the prize is 15.000€.

Prize winners

2022 Jari Eloranta

2019 Pirjo Markkola

2016 Jari Ojala

2013 Kimmo Katajala

2010 Riitta Hjerppe

2007 Viljo Rasila