This site uses cookies to enable site functionality. By using this site, you accept our use of cookies.

Suomalainen Tiedeakatemia | Finnish Academy of Science and Letters | Academia Scientiarum Fennica

Year Book 2019

Year Book 2019 can be read as online book via link above.


Anna Mauranen: Greeting from the President
Pekka Aula: Greeting from the Secretary General


Academy Award - Raimo Tuomela
Eino Jutikkala History Prize - Pirjo Markkola
Prize for the Humanities - Heli Huhtamaa
Pro Scientia Prize - Ilari Hetemäki
Väisälä Prize - Goëry Genty
Väisälä Prize - Tuomo Kuusi


Annual report of the Finnish Academy of Science and Letters
Jaakko Kuosmanen and Nanna Särkkä: Towards evidence-informed decision-making
Niko Nurminen: Theory and practice confront in the Anarctic


Publications by the Finnish Academy of Science and Letters in 2019


Kalle Achté
Ilkka Heiskanen
Osmo Jussila
Kauko Mikkonen
Tauno Palva
Unto Salo
Eeva Tapio

ISBN 978-951-41-1146-4

Finnish Academy of Science and Letters
Mariankatu 5 A, 2nd floor
00170 Helsinki, Finland

+358-50-4620 890
acadsci (at)

Secretary General
Pekka Aula
+358-40-7030 952
pekka.aula (at)  

Administrative Manager
Leila Sarajärvi
+358-50-4620 890
leila.sarajarvi (at)

Science Communicator
Klaus Elfving
+358 50 5876 527
klaus.elfving (at)

Administrative Assistant
Nina Rapelo
+358-50-4620 889 
nina.rapelo (at)

Administrative Secretary
Suvi Salmi
+358-50-5128 830
suvi.salmi (at)

Academy Secretary, Sofi (Science Advice Initiative of Finland)
Jaakko Kuosmanen
+358-40-0601 716
jaakko.kuosmanen (at)

Science Communicator, Sofi (Science Advisory Initiative of Finland)
Nanna Särkkä
+358-50-5208 366
nanna.sarkka (at)